Glazing: Before and After

My dear ones,

It’s been a while, has it not? The month of May to June was such a splendid and life-changing time. I graduated college and turned 25. Along with all of those shenanigans I’ve also had the opportunity to glaze and fire frogs for a display at the Botanical Gardens in Huntsville, as well as have several pieces of my pottery go to a new bank for display. I’ll be attending the ribbon cutting ceremony tomorrow. How strange to say something like that! I can’t believe how blessed I’ve been within this entire mud adventure.

I’ve been working heavily in the last few weeks to maintain a steady flow of inventory. I never thought that would be something I said. Some times it’s easier than others to choose colors to glaze the pieces, but I tend to get a bit blocked for one particular reason: most glazes look nothing like they will after firing.

Example One:

A soft, powdery blue?

Pretty close.

Example Two:

Maybe a pink? No…

A deep plum after firing.

Example Three:

Easy, right? This one is going to be white.

It’s a clear glaze on a Speckled Buff clay.

It’s a trying exercise with the mosaic pieces I’ve been doing since I have to use several different colors. They may look exactly the same in liquid form but nothing alike when fired, and I don’t want to end up with a whole side or line of the same color.

And speaking of mosaic pieces…here is a sneak peek of two new ones that I’m currently glazing…

This piece will be multi-colored.

This bowl will be glazed in all different shades of blue.

Once these pieces have made it through the entire process I’ll put the pictures up as well as more information on how I actually did this technique. It takes a LOT of patience and even more time, but it’s so very worth it in the end when you see the results.

❤ T

If you want to stay up-to-date with my crazy, muddy life you can find me on Facebook here, subscribe to this blog to get it sent to you every time I write a new one by clicking “Follow” and entering your email on the right, and check out 16 Main Gallery’s page here.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 06:18:20

    Love the update! Obviously you’ve been working hard and all of your success is well deserved! CONGRATULATIONS!

    Reply

  2. onlinefunland
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 01:36:56

    So Beautiful !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

